The supreme administrative body of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine is the Assembly. The Assembly is attended by all faculty members, representatives of other teaching staff and representatives of undergraduate and postgraduate students and doctoral candidates of the Faculty.

The Dean of the Faculty for the academic years 2020-21 and 2021-22 is the Associate Professor V. Papatsiros.

The Vice Dean of the Faculty for the academic years 2020-21 and 2021-22 is the Associate Professor A. Pourlis.

The Secretary of the Faculty is Mrs. M. Mpountolou.


Department Committees, Academic Officers and Supervisors


Committee for recognition of courses and interruption of studies
V. Papatsiros
A. Pourlis
A. Sideri

Animal Use Ethics Committee
A. Galatos (coordinator)
L. Athanasiou
P. Pantazis
with alternate members G. Amiridis, A. Theodosiadou and K. Koutoulis

The Operating Regulations of EDEXZO are available at the Regulations Webpage. All relevant forms are available on the website of the Secretariat.

Quality Assurance Committee
L. Athanassiou (coordinator)
E. Valassi
G. Valiakos
A. Theodosiadou
A. Pexara
N. Solomakos

Doctoral Studies Committee
N. Solomakos (coordinator)
E. Valassi
K. Koutoulis
P. Xenoulis
P. Pantazis

Education Committee
A. Pourlis (coordinator)
E. Valassi
E. Saridomichelakis
A. Sideri
N. Solomakos

Επιτροπή Εξωστρέφειας
A. Pourlis (coordinator)
K. Koutoulis
V. Mavrogianni
P. Xenoulis
N. Solomakos

Rankings Committee 
Vassilios Papatsiros, President
Irini Valassi, member (Principles of Animal Physiology)
Ekaterini Theodosiadou, member (Principles of Animal Physiology)
George Kontopidis, member (Principles of Animal Biochemistry)
Ioannis Pappas, member (Principles of Animal Biochemistry)
Aris Pourlis, member (Principles of Animal Anatomy)
Vasiliki Tsioli, member (Principles of Animal Anatomy)

Student Affairs Committee
P. Gouletsou (coordinator)
A. Theodosiadou
A. Sideri

Academical Supervisors for clinical operation and training
V. Papatsiros (productive animals)
V. Tsioli (pets)

Academical Supervisor for student internships
I. Pappas

Academical Supervisor for the Erasmus program
L. Athanasiou
with E. Valassi as deputy

Supervisor of buildings and infrastructure
G. Kontopidis
with deputies K. Katsoulis and P. Xenoulis

Cleaning contract supervisor
G. Anastasiou

Webmaster and social media manager
G. Valiakos

Financial manager of the Department
I. Pappas with A. Galatos as deputy

Student catering restaurant control committee
A. Pexara
S. Doikou (administrative)


Former Deans of the Faculty


Before the autonomy of the Faculty

Sep. 1994-Jan. 1999 Professor A. Karamanlidis (Faculty of Veterinary Science, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)

Feb. 1999-Jun. 2000 Assistant Professor AD Galatos

July 2000-Sep. 2004 Professor I. Tsitsipis (Department of Crop Production, University of Thessaly)

Oct. 2004-Aug. 2006 Professor P.A. Molyvdas (Faculty of Medicine, University of Thessaly)


After the autonomy of the Faculty

Sep. 2006-Aug. 2008 Professor F. Athanasopoulou

Aug. 2008-Sep. 2010 Professor F. Athanasopoulou

Sep. 2010-Dec. 2012 Professor Ch. Billinis

Jan. 2013-Aug. 2014 Professor Ch. Billinis

Sep. 2014-Aug. 2016 Professor A. Govaris

Sep. 2016-Aug. 2018 Professor G.C. Fthenakis

Sep. 2018-Aug. 2020 Professor G.C. Fthenakis

Sep. 2020-present Associate Professor V. Papatsiros